The Internet is Magical

Since being terminated from my previous job, I have started training at the new one. I was off this past Friday and Saturday, and wanted to make dinner at least one night. I had stumbled upon a recipe for a Brown Sugar and Balsamic Glazed Pork Loin on Pinterest earlier in the week and decided that since I had all of the ingredients already that I would make it over the weekend. After I had started prepping the loin I realized I only had dark brown sugar. This wasn’t a problem for the main course but put a wrench in my dessert choice. The boy was working so I wanted to make him his favorite, chocolate chip cookies, and I only know of recipes using light brown sugar. I relied on the Internet to help me.

Google is a wonderful thing and after a few different keyword searches and several visited pages, I finally came across Eat, Live, Run’s blog and her Favorite Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe. Huzzah, it only uses dark brown sugar! I modified it slightly (upped the vanilla and chocolate chips as I usually do to my cookies) and chilled the dough in the freezer for several hours before finally scooping some out and baking them up. And boy were they delicious. Saturday I made pizookies (again, after hours on Pinterest, haha) and another batch of cookies. I’m not one to eat homemade cookies unless fresh out of the oven (aka I don’t do leftovers) but I needed something chocolatey earlier and indulged. Delicious even a day old!

Favorite Chocolate Chip Cookies
Adapted from Eat, Live, Run

  • 2 1/2 C All-Purpose Flour
  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1 tsp Sea Salt
  • 2 tsp Pure Vanilla Extract
  • 2 C Dark Brown Sugar, packed
  • 2 Large Eggs
  • 2 sticks Unsalted Buter, softened
  • 2 C (1 bag) Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
  • 1/2 C Mini Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips

Whisk together the flour, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

Cream together the butter and sugar. Add the eggs one at a time, beating after each one. Add the vanilla and mix gently to combine.

Add the flour to the butter and mix. Carefully stir in the chocolate chips. Bake at 350 for about twelve minutes, or until golden.

Variation: Pizookie

Scoop dough into 4-inch ramekins and bake at 375 for 12-18 minutes, or until desired doneness. Top with Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream and mini chocolate chips.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

